Super Mom – No Cape!

One mother sharing her knowledge with others

Super Mom Tip of the Day – How to Make a Garbage Can Compost Bin

Posted by supermom on March 31, 2009

My blog Super Mom – No Cape and all its content has moved to

www.supermomnocape.com

For the contents of this particular post click on the link below:

Super Mom Tip of the Day – How to Make a Garbage Can Compost Bin

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Super Mom Tip of the Day – How to Make a Garbage Can Compost Bin”

  1. So what did that take you? Maybe an hour? That was making almost $190/hour!! Way to go!! You should post this in CiR, under the gardening area for those that don’t understand how easy it is to make your own compost! I hadn’t found an easy step by step process, just made one with a lot of smaller holes (didn’t want stuff falling out), but I think I could modify it by using the screening!! Thanks for the tutorial!

  2. Pam said

    But how did you attach that screening? I tried using construction adhesive and it just came right off. I checked that website you mentioned and he used just plain ol’ glue gun sticks? Did I read that right?!

    • supermom said

      Hello Pam… yes, you read that right. The glue gun glue holds really well. I simply ran a bead of glue around the hole and then pressed the screening into the glue. You’ll want to wear an old pair of gardening gloves or something to protect your fingers from the hot glue that oozes through the screening.

      It’s been a little over two months now since we made our garbage can compost bin. The bin has been rolled around the backyard several times to keep everything mixed and the pieces of screen are still all holding.

  3. OH! I will try this…. ONLY I’ll use a $2. garbage can from Big Lots :-)))

  4. novaandjet said

    I love this idea! My PP (previously purchased) hehe bin didn’t work out as I expected and was left behind when we moved. Thanks so much for the tutorial. I’d like to link to your page if it’s ok.
    DIYmom

  5. [...] How to Make a Garbage Can Compost Bin [...]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

