Super Mom – No Cape!

One mother sharing her knowledge with others

When Inspiration Strikes

Posted by supermom on September 30, 2011

Last week, Robin over at RSIslandcrafts posted her sign-up post for this year’s Stocking Giveaway.   The sign-ups are for any blog that wants to host a giveaway for a Christmas Stocking on their blog at the end of November.

Stockings for the giveaway can be handmade or bought.  You can fill them or not.

For more detailed information check out Robin’s post: 2011 Stocking Give Away

The next few months are going to be super busy, so I’ve been holding off signing up to host a Stocking Giveaway because I wanted to be sure I at least had the stocking part figured out.

I knew that I wanted to give away a handmade stocking but there are just so many different patterns and designs to choose from when it comes to stockings.

I also knew that I wanted to use what I had on hand to make the stocking.

Yesterday, I had one of those wake up in the middle of the night and can’t go back to sleep times, so I got up and started working on some Christmas projects.  I find embroidering to be almost a zen type experience and often when I get into the flow, inspiration will strike.

This is the result of that inspiration and a couple of hours sewing yesterday and this morning.

I’ve still got to sew the two pieces together, make the lining, etc. but I’m super pleased with the QAYG (quilt as you go) that I did for the front and back of the stocking.

If you’d like to host a Stocking Giveaway on your blog in November be sure to sign-up over on Robin’s blog.  She’s making it extra fun by having mini giveaways between now and November for those blogs that are participating.

Now for those of you who don’t have a blog or don’t want to host a giveaway, you can still join in the fun come the end of November by visiting the blogs that are hosting giveaways and entering to win.

4 Responses to “When Inspiration Strikes”

  1. Sandra :) said

    Yummy festive Christmas fabrics – your stocking is going to be gorgeous!

    October is going to be my big month for Christmas gift crafting – I’m going to put on blinders and be very focused! The list is made (although it gets changed frequently as I spot better/different projects, or try something that doesn’t work out, or find out a recipient hates x/y/z) and I have enough supplies to sink a ship — things WILL get done!!

  2. Maria said

    How clever are you!! Love it would you mind if I did a QAYG Stocking as well?? It will be in different fabris. So won’t look the same.

    • supermom said

      Hello Maria,

      I don’t mind at all. One of the things I love about working with fabric is that two people can start with the same basic idea and because they choose different fabrics the finished project looks completely different. So I think it’s a great idea if you make a QAYG stocking for the Stocking Giveaway.

      From what I’ve seen on your blog, you have so many great fabrics to choose from… I’m sure the one you make will be beautiful. I’m looking forward to seeing it when it’s done.

  3. Your stocking pieces turned out gorgeous. You have alot of fun Christmas fabrics to play with. I have been slowly adding to my supply but I know I need a bit more variety.

    I love making QAYG stockings! They are so much fun, use up bits and pieces of fabric and are really easy to make.

    Thanks for joining us this year!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

