Super Mom – No Cape!

One mother sharing her knowledge with others

Little Things Making Me Happy

Posted by supermom on December 16, 2011

It’s been two weeks now since we finished packing up everything and put it into storage.

The contents of a 3 bedroom house stacked and packed into a 10X20 climate controlled storage unit.

Since that time, we’ve traveled up to Canada and secured temporary housing to take us through until after Christmas.   What direction our future will take is more than a little uncertain at the moment.  If I concentrate only on the big things facing us, I find myself overwhelmed.

But what I’m also finding is that it’s the little things that are making me happy and providing bright spots to our days.

As all of our Christmas decorations are in storage, I’ve been scouring the local thrift stores for inexpensive decorations to give our little apartment a bit of Christmas spirit.   The other day, while searching the shelves of the Salvation Army Thrift Store in Whitby, ON, hidden on the very bottom shelf, I found something that made my eyes light up and my heart sing.

Now I know that someone else might have passed by this little house and not even taken a second look.  But right away, I recognized it as the treasure it was.

You see, back in the late 90s, Dave and our children gave me two little wooden houses for Christmas.  And every year since, they have been brought out and displayed along with our other Christmas decorations.

The trees were later additions and the little snow hill was a gift from one of our children.   But we’ve never been able to find any of the matching houses to expand our little village; until now.

Today it is helping to make our temporary home a little more festive.  But next year, it will become part of our little Christmas village and that thought makes me smile.

Something else that is making me smile… tonight, not only will I be joining the virtual Friday Night Sew In hosted by Heidi and Bobbi but I’m going to be taking part in a real life sew-in with Sandra and Nancy at Sandra’s house.   Now how fun is that!

If you haven’t signed for the second of December’s FNSIs… it’s not too late.  Just click on the button on my right sidebar or go here.

4 Responses to “Little Things Making Me Happy”

  1. Sandra :) said

    You can come if you bring junk food and a cutie guy along!!! ;)

    This is the first post of yours I’ve seen in a while – the last couple haven’t shown up in my blog reader for some reason – thanks, Google Reader!! *insert eye rolling here*

    See you in a few hours – I wonder if I can get the entire house painted by then? ;)

  2. What a great find!

  3. Joan said

    Thats a lovely post – I have also been reading a lot of your other posts. Loved them. Hope you find a place to live soon and a are able to settle. Its Saturday morning here, but Friday where you are, so I will be sitting and sewing too for the FNSI :)

  4. corina said

    So glad you found your treasure! Hope you girls had a great time (did you get any sewing done?!?). Wishing you a Merry Christmas! May the New Year bring you and your family all that your hearts desire!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

