Super Mom – No Cape!

One mother sharing her knowledge with others

SuperMom Tip of the Day – What to do with Broken Cooked Pasta

Posted by supermom on February 10, 2009

Last Sunday, when I was making Spinach Stuffed Pasta Shells, some of the cooked shells had broken or split while cooking and couldn’t be used for the dish.  Plus I ran out of filling before I ran out of shells, so I had some whole ones left, as well.

Rather than throw out that pasta, I sliced it up into strips.cut-up-leftover-pasta

Then I put those into a freezer bag and put them in the freezer to be used the next time I make soup.place-in-bag-and-freeze

I also do this with lasagna or manicotti shells that break while cooking.

This post has been added to Kitchen Tip Tuesday.

And over at BeingFrugal.net…tightwadtuesday-thumb

3 Responses to “SuperMom Tip of the Day – What to do with Broken Cooked Pasta”

  1. Lynnae said

    Love that idea! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Jerri said

    What a great idea. So much better than throwing it away!

  3. mom2fur said

    That is a brilliantly frugal idea! I can’t tell you how much pasta I’ve ditched because it fell apart. After reading your tip…never again! Thanks, I need to save anywhere and everywhere I can.
    BTW, thanks for visiting my blog. And don’t worry about the typos. It’s funny, but I read ‘that’s’ instead of ‘thanks,’ anyway! Funny how the brain works…when it does work.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
