Super Mom – No Cape!

One mother sharing her knowledge with others

Two More Gift Bags Completed

Posted by supermom on January 28, 2011

I’ve completed two more gift bags.  These are bigger but again each a different variation on the basic tote style gift bag.

The first uses two fat quarters in complimentary prints.  Instead of handles, I chose which fabric I wanted for the front of the bag and then folded the back over the front by 4.5 inches, installed four grommets and then sewed a length of ribbon to the front that is then pulled through the grommets and tied in a bow.  (I hope to have a tutorial ready and posted for this bag sometime in the next few days.)

I used two games to fill the bag so that it would photograph nicely.

As you can see, it’ll hold quite a good sized gift.

The second gift bag, well… you could say that this bag was a little over a year in the making.  I started that redwork embroidery the Christmas of 2009.*   So not only is this second bag part of my gift bag project, it is also a WISP (Work in Slow Progress) completed as well.  The finished bag measures 12.5″ wide by 18″ high by 4″ deep.   So it will hold quite a large gift, as well.

2011 is shaping up to become the year of getting things done.

*Note:  The embroidery pattern is one of a set of three from McCall’s Crafts Pattern #6001.

4 Responses to “Two More Gift Bags Completed”

  1. Cindy said

    The bags are looking beautiful! I really like the embroidered one especially!

  2. polly lacy said

    I love the red gift bags with the redwork embroidery. Where can I find a pattern for the bag itself? Love your site!

    • supermom said

      Thank you, Polly Lacy. There isn’t a pattern for the bags. Each one ends up a different size depending on the size of the embroidery. I am working on a tutorial with instructions for how to turn any piece of embroidery into a gift bag. It’s going to take me a bit of time to make sure I have clear instructions. But please check back and I’ll try to get that tutorial posted as soon as possible.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
