Super Mom – No Cape!

One mother sharing her knowledge with others

Cranberry Coffee Cake

Posted by supermom on April 8, 2011

Since I haven’t shared a recipe in quite a while, I thought I’d share one for the cake I made yesterday afternoon.  I usually only make it after Thanksgiving or Christmas to use up any leftover cranberry sauce.  But this year, I canned our own cranberry sauce.  I have lots of little half-pints jars and so I can make it whenever I want.

It’s a great cake to serve to company.  Not too sweet and just a hint of tartness from the cranberries.

½ butter, at room temperature  (the original recipe called for shortening but I’ve switched to using either butter or coconut oil for baking)

¾ c sugar

2 eggs at room temperature

2 c flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

1 c plain yogurt

1 tsp vanilla

1 can whole berry cranberry sauce (or whatever is leftover from turkey day as long as you have at least 1 cup)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Generously grease and flour a bundt pan.

Cream together butter, sugar and eggs until light and fluffy.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl.

Add to the creamed mixture; alternating with yogurt and vanilla.  Beat until smooth after each addition.

Spread half of the batter in the bundt pan.  Top with half of the cranberry sauce.  Repeat.

Bake for 50 to 60 minutes.  Test for doneness by inserting a skewer into the cake.  When it comes out clean, the cake is done.

Remove from oven.  Turn onto a rack.  Remove pan and allow to cook completely.

Allow cake to cool completely.

Then you can either dust it with icing sugar as I have done here:

We prefer this cake generously dusted with icing sugar.

Or you can drizzle with a glaze made of 1 c icing sugar, 3 to 5 tsp milk and 1 tsp vanilla.

Each slice is marbled with cranberry sauce.

Note:  I did share this recipe in this post way back in Jan 2009, but the recipe kind of got lost amongst the other recipes.   This cake is so good… it deserves to shine in its own post.

2 Responses to “Cranberry Coffee Cake”

  1. gee how good does this cake look i will have to try this one,thanks

  2. Thanks so much for leaving your ‘footprint’ in my comment box this morning… and for joining in the fun of my new giveaway.

    Enjoyed my visit to your site… the cranberry coffee cake looks absolutely yummy. I’m not a quilter but my mom is, so it was fun to see your creativity ‘in action’.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
