Super Mom – No Cape!

One mother sharing her knowledge with others

How to Make Homemade Stock

Posted by supermom on September 20, 2011

My blog Super Mom – No Cape and all its content has moved to

www.supermomnocape.com

For the contents of this particular post click on the link below:

How to Make Homemade Stock

 

 

7 Responses to “How to Make Homemade Stock”

  1. In all the time I’ve been making stock, it has never once occurred to me to use one of those pots with the built-in strainer. Genius!!!!

  2. Sandra :) said

    That’s pretty much how I make mine too – when I’m really organize and have the room, I put an empty icecream container in the freezer that I use for soup ingredients – leftover veggies, washed peelings, meat bones etc. When it’s full – it’s time to make broth!

  3. Valerie said

    Well I have did this with chicken or turkey but not beef. How smart! I would love to have a bowl of it right now all by itself!!!

  4. Sandi said

    Oh, yum! When I make chicken & dumplings, I start with a whole chicken and use the back, wings and neck to make the stock. It’s surprisingly quick and the flavor is so much better than anything you’ll get from a can.

  5. I never knew about baking the bones first. I will have to try that next time. Pressure canning it is a great idea. I also like to fill 3 or 4 ice cube trays with both. That way when I only need a tablespoon or two of broth I have it in small portions too.

  6. Rosieh said

    There is nothing like your own home made anything.. great for coeliacs too, you know what is in what you are eating..

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
