Super Mom – No Cape!

One mother sharing her knowledge with others

A Glimpse Into the Past

Posted by supermom on February 1, 2012

My blog Super Mom – No Cape and all its content has moved to

www.supermomnocape.com

For the contents of this particular post click on the link below:

A Glimpse Into the Past

 

 

5 Responses to “A Glimpse Into the Past”

  1. Sandra :) said

    Such a gorgeous machine – I just love these old vintage lovlies. The first machine I bought was an old Singer straight stitch – I was 15 (I think) and at the time my income consisted of babysitting money, so I was pretty broke, and it was the only thing I could afford! This was 35 years ago, so no Craigslist, no Kijiji, no internet, lol. I didn’t really appreciate the vintage aspect at the time – I was just interested in a machine that RAN. I traded up several times as funds allowed, but in the last few years I had such problems with modern machines, that I started looking again at these older workhorses. While the newer machines have some fun and fancy features and stitches, I much prefer the sturdiness and perfect stitching of the machines that have shown that they can stand the test of time. I’m talking about YOU, 1953 Singer 201!!! 😉

  2. Sandra :) said

    Errrrrrrr lovelies, not lovlies – oops!

  3. What a beautiful machine!

  4. Jen said

    What a great story and a beautiful machine! you have much more patience than me. I would tell Dad that i would do all his sewing if I could have the machine right then!

  5. Pat Sieler said

    What a beauty! The only old machine I would want is a treadle. I learned on a treadle and somewhere along the way my parents got rid of it. Now with the costs of repairs it is cheaper to go on line and find a new one. That is a very sad commentary about life in the present.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you will be able to sew on this loved machine.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
