Super Mom – No Cape!

One mother sharing her knowledge with others

The Singer Art Deco Cabinet is Finished

Posted by supermom on July 10, 2011

I mentioned in my post last Wednesday that Dave completed refinishing the Art Deco Cabinet for my Singer 15-91 and as promised the following post is loaded with photos.

It’s been challenging to get good pictures of the cabinet and I’m not sure that these do it justice.  Dave did an amazing refinishing job and the cabinet is really stunning when seen in person.

There remain a few “imperfections” where the years had taken it’s toll on the cabinet; a chip in the veneer under the left hand drawer, a dent in the wood of the left hand extending leaf where someone had tried to close it while the machine was still in the upright position… little things like that Dave decided to leave untouched because to attempt to repair them might have caused irreparable damage to the cabinet itself.

The refinishing was done in the garage so before we brought the cabinet in the house we took some pictures of it out on the driveway to try to catch the early morning sun.

In this picture you can see how even the brass hinges have been cleaned and returned to their original beauty.

Dave also replaced all the felt pads with new ones as the originals had gotten hard and worn with time and weren’t providing any cushioning when the leafs were open.

I’ve been using the machine in it’s new cabinet for a week now but we couldn’t get good photos as it was positioned in the room, so Dave moved it temporarily so that we could have the light from the one window in that room.  One thing is for sure, we don’t want to have to move the cabinet too often now, because with the machine in it, it is really heavy.

Another shot of the front of the Art Deco cabinet.

And here is my Singer 15-91 in her new home.

Excuse the blue low tack painters tape you see on the needle plate.  I’m using it as a temporary seam guide until the new Adhesive Needle Throat Plate markings arrive that I’ve ordered from Sew Classic.

And we can’t forget that Dave also refinished the bench seat that came with the cabinet.

He even recovered the cushion with fabric from my stash.

In this picture and the one above, we turned the flash off so that you could see a truer representation of the fabric on the cushion and in this second one…  a bit more clearly the detail of the black strip at the bottom.

Another unique touch that Dave added, at my request, are the spool holders he inserted into the middle drawer on the right hand side of the cabinet.  Each spool rod holds a tall spool with room for its matching bobbin on top.

And before someone notices and mentions it, yes, I know that two of the bobbins are plastic bobbins and can’t be used in the 15-91.   I popped them in there just for demonstration purposes.    The Simplicity Sidewinder Bobbin Winder that our son gave me for Christmas is going to come in handy for rewinding bobbins as I change thread back and forth between my two machines.

One final picture of the cabinet where it now sits ready for me to finish sewing the lawn chair cushions and countless other projects I have planned for the future.

 

 

Before pictures of the cabinet can be seen in my post Art Deco Cabinet for My Singer 15-91. 

For an in-progress picture check out Art Deco Cabinet – Some Dis-Assembly Required.

 

This post has been added to Furniture Feature Friday over at Miss Mustard Seed

11 Responses to “The Singer Art Deco Cabinet is Finished”

  1. Katherine said

    It looks breath-taking, Sue! Dave did a wonderful job refinishing and I love the drawer with all the spool holders. What a clever storage idea! Your 15-91 looks like a dream in her new cabinet, you’ve given her a beautiful setting. Thanks so much for sharing the journey. It’s just amazing to see what a lot of love and TLC will do for vintage treasures. I know you will be enjoying this machine and her gorgeous cabinet for years (and many, many projects) to come!

  2. corina said

    Wow! You are very lucky! Dave does beautiful work. He must have a lot of patience to refinish a piece like that – the sanding must have taken forever! Looking forward to see what you produce with your new setup!

  3. Its beautiful! What a treasure you have.

  4. Sandra :) said

    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah a most gorgeous home for a most wonderful machine – plus it’s a work of art for your house … and I bet it kept hubby out of your hair for a while – that’s a bonus! 😉

    I used my 201 without a seam guide for almost a year before I smartened up and ordered a new plate – what a difference it makes having the guide, lol!

  5. Home sewing machines said

    After 35 years of working in the sewing machine industry, i can honestly say that i’ve never seen a cabinet like that before. Its very interesting.

  6. Martha said

    I have the same sewing cabinet. Mine came with a Riccar (yellow & green) sewing machine. Bought it at a flea market but it didn’t come with the bench seat. I had wondered what I should be looking for to replace it. Now I know. Thanks.

  7. Oh wow! A beautiful restoration job. it’s gorgeous!

  8. Dave did an amazing job! I just went back and looked at the before picture – WOW! What a transformation. Now you have a wonderful cabinet to sew on. I think the thread spools in the drawer is a great idea. Your thread will be nice and close when you need to switch threads. My Daughter bought me a sidewinder a couple Christmases ago. I didn’t think I would use it but I use it all the time. It is very handy.

  9. mary williams said

    Brings back memories!!!! my mother had that same style cabinet and stool…Oh how I wish I had it now. It is just beautiful. I just picked up a wood sewing cabinet at the Goodwill today for $3.99. More of a 60’s style but still anxious to get this one refinished also. Thanks for sharing….many wonderful memories were stirred.

  10. Colleen said

    Your husband did an amazing job on the cabinet and the stool. I have a simiar cabinet in very rough shape. May I ask what he used to stain it? If mine came out half as nice I would be thrilled!!

    • supermom said

      Hello Colleen,

      My husband was thrilled with your comment.  He put so much work into refinishing it. 

      The only stain he used was Minwax Ebony stain for the drawer pulls and the stripe along the bottom of the cabinet and stool.  The rest is just the nature colour of the wood.  He used three coats of semi-gloss Varthane with a light sanding between each coat to get that wonderful shine.

      Good luck refinishing your cabinet.

      Aloha, Sue (aka supermomnocape)

        Come check out my homemaking blog http://www.supermomnocape.com

      ________________________________

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.